Partner organizations

The Competition Authority participates in the work of working groups and associations in different fields of activity. The majority of international communication takes place through cooperation networks and organisations, but also in the form of bilateral relations. The Competition Authority also cooperates with the authorities responsible for the prevention of unfair commercial practices designated by the Member States of the European Union and the European Commission to prevent unfair commercial practices.

  • The European Competition Network (ECN) is the forum for cooperation between the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Competition and the national competition authorities of the EU Member States to ensure an efficient division of work and an effective and consistent application of EU competition rules.
  • The European Competition Authorities (ECA) is an informal cooperation network, bringing together the competition authorities of the European Union, the European Commission and the competition authorities of EFTA Member States. ECA meetings are held once a year to discuss topical competition-related issues and share experiences.
  • The OECD Competition Committee is a committee of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) that focuses on competition issues in the region covering all its member countries.
  • The International Competition Network (ICN) is a global network of competition authorities with members from every region of the world. It aims to facilitate the maintenance of regular contacts and promote a common understanding of competition rules and their implementation.
  • The Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) plays a central role in developing of EU wide network and market rules to enhance competition. The agency coordinates regional and trans regional initiatives that foster market integration. ACER monitors the work of the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity and the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Gas, in particular, their EU-wide network development plans.
  • The Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER) was established to promote cooperation among the independent energy regulators of Europe. The council aims to facilitate the creation of a single, competitive, efficient and sustainable internal market for electricity in Europe.
  • The Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA) is an international association of energy regulators established in 2000 to exchange information between energy regulators, provide sectorspecific training and offer expert advice in the field of energy.
  • The OECD Network of Economic Regulators (NER) is aimed at exchanging regulatory practices in different sectors and comparing the efficiency and independence of regulators.
  • The Baltic Regional Gas Market Coordination Group is tasked with the development of a single Baltic and Finnish gas market. The aim of the regulators is to develop a unified pricing scheme based on input-output points.
  • The European Water Regulators (WAREG) was established under the leadership of 12 European water regulatory or development organisations. The WAREG working group on regulation monitors the implementation of benchmarking in the water regulation of different countries, while the institutional working group addresses the issue of affordability of water services.
  • The Independent Regulators’ Group-Rail (IRG-Rail) is a network comprising independent rail regulatory bodies from 29 countries. IRG-Rail analyses the legislative amendments proposed by the European Commission and proposes necessary additions or amendments.
  • The European Network of Rail Regulatory Bodies (ENRRB) is an institution set up by the European Commission to bring together national rail regulatory bodies from EU Member States. The main task of the ENRRB is to assist the European Commission in the preparation of legislation and to facilitate active cooperation and information exchange between national rail regulatory bodies.
  • The Thessaloniki Forum of Airport Charges Regulators (Thessaloniki Forum) is an expert group of the European Commission composed of airport charges regulators of EU Member States, the Airports Council International Europe, and representative institutions of international and European airlines. The task of the Thessaloniki Forum is to assist the European Commission in the implementation of existing EU legislation, programmes and policies as well as in the preparation of legislative proposals and policy initiatives, and to promote cooperation and communication between Member States.
  • The European Regulators Group for Postal Services (ERGP) is composed of EU Member States. The role of the ERGP is to advise the European Commission in the field of postal services and to facilitate cooperation and communication between the Member States and the European Commission.
  • The European Committee of Postal Regulation (CERP) is tasked with examining postal regulatory affairs in a European context, while also taking into account any regulatory changes. The CERP also assesses the influence of international regulatory policies and liaises with relevant international organisations concerned with postal regulation.
  • European working groups of the Universal Postal Union (UPU). The Universal Postal Union (UPU) is the primary global platform for cooperation among parties in the postal sector. The UPU also fulfils an advisory, mediating and liaison role, and provides technical assistance where needed. The UPU sets the rules for international mail exchange and makes recommendations to stimulate the growth of letter, parcel and financial services and to improve the quality of services for customers.

The Competition Authority’s closest cooperation is with its colleagues in neighbouring countries. The competition authorities, as well as energy and postal regulators, hold annual meetings with their counterparts from Latvia, Lithuania, and Finland